MLB Player Stats - Matt Carpenter - St. Louis

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#13
Matt Carpenter
AVG HR RBI
.226 9 27
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-4 / 210 NFBC ADP: 69.47
Position: 1BBorn: 11/26/1985 Birthplace: Galveston, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 13th Round by Cardinals (2009)


Latest News
May 28 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)6:39 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 0 for 5 Sunday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Colorado Rockies 8-4. He ended the game with a .224 batting average.
May 27 8:42 AM PT9:42 AM MT10:42 AM CT11:42 AM ET11:42 ET15:42 GMT23:42 8:42 AM MST10:42 AM EST11:12 AM VEN19:42 UAE10:42 AM CT-Carpenter went 1 for 3 Friday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Colorado Rockies 10-0. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
Analysis: He's batting .152 with 13 strikeouts in his last 12 games.
May 26 6:29 AM PT7:29 AM MT8:29 AM CT9:29 AM ET9:29 ET13:29 GMT21:29 6:29 AM MST8:29 AM EST8:59 AM VEN17:29 UAE8:29 AM CT-Matt Carpenter went 0 for 3 Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-3. He ended the game with a .229 batting average.
May 25 10:18 AM PT11:18 AM MT12:18 PM CT1:18 PM ET13:18 ET17:18 GMT1:18 10:18 AM MST12:18 PM EST12:48 PM VEN21:18 UAE12:18 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 2 for 4 Wednesday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-1. Carpenter scored once. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
Analysis: Carpenter had entered the game in a 4-for-36 funk but reached base three times. He became the fastest Cardinal to reach 400 walks (759 games) by reaching in the third inning, topping Albert Pujols' mark in 789 contests.
May 24 6:43 AM PT7:43 AM MT8:43 AM CT9:43 AM ET9:43 ET13:43 GMT21:43 6:43 AM MST8:43 AM EST9:13 AM VEN17:43 UAE8:43 AM CT-Carpenter went 0 for 5 Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1. He ended the game with a .226 batting average.
Analysis: He's 2 for 23 in his last five games.
May 21 5:51 PM PT6:51 PM MT7:51 PM CT8:51 PM ET20:51 ET0:51 GMT8:51 5:51 PM MST7:51 PM EST8:21 PM VEN4:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 1 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the San Francisco Giants 8-3. The homer was his ninth of the season. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
Analysis: Carpenter is 4 for 31 with eight strikeouts in his last eight games but two of those hits have left the yard. The Cardinals face the Dodgers on Tuesday, and Carpenter is 5 for 19 against Clayton Kershaw, the scheduled starter for the opener.
May 21 9:17 AM PT10:17 AM MT11:17 AM CT12:17 PM ET12:17 ET16:17 GMT0:17 9:17 AM MST11:17 AM EST11:47 AM VEN20:17 UAE11:17 AM CT-Matt Carpenter went 1 for 6 with a double Saturday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-1. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
May 20 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Matt Carpenter went 0 for 3 Friday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-5. He ended the game with a .238 batting average.
May 18 9:08 AM PT10:08 AM MT11:08 AM CT12:08 PM ET12:08 ET16:08 GMT0:08 9:08 AM MST11:08 AM EST11:38 AM VEN20:08 UAE11:08 AM CT-Matt Carpenter went 0 for 5 Wednesday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-4. He ended the game with a .244 batting average.
May 17 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 1 for 3 with an RBI Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the Boston Red Sox 6-3. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
May 14 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 1 for 3 with a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Chicago Cubs 5-0. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
Analysis: Carpenter's two-run drive came in the third. He was 1-for-31 before the round-tripper against Arrieta, his friend and college teammate at TCU.
May 13 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 0 for 4 Saturday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Chicago Cubs 5-3. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Analysis: Maybe Sunday will be the day Carpenter finally gets a hit off his former TCU teammate, Jake Arrieta. Carpenter is 0 for 27 lifetime against Arrieta with nine strikeouts and six walks.
May 12 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 0 for 3 Friday as the St. Louis Cardinals fell to the Chicago Cubs 3-2. He ended the game with a .260 batting average.
May 10 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 1 for 4 Wednesday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Miami Marlins 7-5. Carpenter scored once. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
May 10 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Miami Marlins 6-5. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
May 8 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 1 for 3 with a triple and two RBIs Monday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Miami Marlins 9-4. Carpenter scored once. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
Analysis: Though his three-game homer streak came to an end, Carpenter has driven in seven runs and scored six times while going 5 for 14 over his last four contests. The three-time All-Star has produced five homers and 17 RBIs while posting a .500 on-base percentage and 11 runs scored during an 11-game stretch.
May 7 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 1 for 5 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Atlanta Braves 6-4. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .264 batting average.
May 6 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Saturday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Atlanta Braves 5-3. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .267 batting average.
Analysis: Carpenter has homered in his last two games. He's also 8 for 19 with three homers, three doubles and eight RBIs in his last six.
May 6 9:25 PM PT10:25 PM MT11:25 PM CT12:25 AM ET0:25 ET4:25 GMT12:25 9:25 PM MST11:25 PM EST11:55 PM VEN8:25 UAE11:25 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 1 for 2 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Atlanta Braves 10-0. The homer was his fifth of the season. Carpenter scored three times. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
Analysis: Carpenter is hitting .400 with two home runs with six RBIs in his last five games.
May 5 9:31 AM PT10:31 AM MT11:31 AM CT12:31 PM ET12:31 ET16:31 GMT0:31 9:31 AM MST11:31 AM EST12:01 PM VEN20:31 UAE11:31 AM CT-Matt Carpenter went 0 for 2 Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4. Carpenter scored once. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
May 3 8:02 AM PT9:02 AM MT10:02 AM CT11:02 AM ET11:02 ET15:02 GMT23:02 8:02 AM MST10:02 AM EST10:32 AM VEN19:02 UAE10:02 AM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 4 with a double Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1. Carpenter scored once. He ended the game with a .256 batting average.
Analysis: He's 5 for 11 in the last three games.
May 2 8:30 AM PT9:30 AM MT10:30 AM CT11:30 AM ET11:30 ET15:30 GMT23:30 8:30 AM MST10:30 AM EST11:00 AM VEN19:30 UAE10:30 AM CT-Matt Carpenter went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Monday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-5. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
Apr. 30 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 2 for 3 with two doubles and three RBIs Sunday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-4. Carpenter scored once. He ended the game with a .243 batting average.
Analysis: The open a four-game home series against the Brewers on Monday, and Carpenter is 5 for 13 with a homer and two doubles lifetime against Zach Davies, the scheduled starter for the opener.
Apr. 29 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Matt Carpenter went 0 for 4 Friday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Cincinnati Reds 7-5. He ended the game with a .224 batting average.
Apr. 28 7:05 AM PT8:05 AM MT9:05 AM CT10:05 AM ET10:05 ET14:05 GMT22:05 7:05 AM MST9:05 AM EST9:35 AM VEN18:05 UAE9:05 AM CT-Carpenter went 0 for 3 with an RBI Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Toronto Blue Jays 6-4 in the second game of a doubleheader. He ended the game with a .238 batting average.
Analysis: Carpenter, who hit a grand slam in Game 1, is 2 for 11 in the last three games.
Apr. 27 4:53 PM PT5:53 PM MT6:53 PM CT7:53 PM ET19:53 ET23:53 GMT7:53 4:53 PM MST6:53 PM EST7:23 PM VEN3:53 UAE (+1)6:53 PM CT-Matt Carpenter hit his first career grand slam with one out in the bottom of the 11th inning and went 2 for 5 with five RBIs Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 in the opener of a doubleheader. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Analysis: After a slow start, Carpenter has hit safely in eight of his last nine games. He's 10 for 34 over that span with three homers and eight RBIs.
Apr. 25 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Carpenter was suspended one game by MLB for bumping an umpire Sunday, and he'll sit out Tuesday's game against Toronto instead of appealing.
Analysis: Carpenter made contact with the ump after being ejected for arguing a called third strike.
Apr. 23 4:50 PM PT5:50 PM MT6:50 PM CT7:50 PM ET19:50 ET23:50 GMT7:50 4:50 PM MST6:50 PM EST7:20 PM VEN3:50 UAE (+1)6:50 PM CT-Carpenter was 0 for 3 with three strikeouts and a walk in Sunday's win over the Brewers.
Analysis: The Cardinals open a 10-game homestand Tuesday against the Blue Jays, and Carpenter is batting .167 with no extra-base hits in seven contests in St. Louis this season. He enjoys facing AL pitching, however, batting .367 with eight homers, 13 RBIs and 19 runs in 23 interleague games since the start of last season.
Apr. 21 10:36 AM PT11:36 AM MT12:36 PM CT1:36 PM ET13:36 ET17:36 GMT1:36 10:36 AM MST12:36 PM EST1:06 PM VEN21:36 UAE12:36 PM CT-Carpenter hit his second home run of the season and ended 2 for 5 in Thursday's loss at Milwaukee.
Analysis: The versatile infielder struggled during the season's first week but has turned it up since, hitting .321 over his nine games and homering in two of the past five. Carpenter rates as a strong play in Friday's matchup with the Brewers, as he's 19 for 41 (.463) with three homers lifetime against Milwaukee starter Wily Peralta.
Apr. 17 5:08 PM PT6:08 PM MT7:08 PM CT8:08 PM ET20:08 ET0:08 GMT8:08 5:08 PM MST7:08 PM EST7:38 PM VEN4:08 UAE (+1)7:08 PM CT-As expected, Carpenter was in the lineup Wednesday against the Pirates after missing two games due to a swollen ring finger. He went 1 for 4.
Analysis: The injury was sustained after the 31-year-old All-Star was hit by a ground ball in Sunday's game against the New York Yankees, and he was a late scratch Monday. Carpenter is batting just .225 with one homer and four RBIs in 13 games this season.
Apr. 15 8:46 AM PT9:46 AM MT10:46 AM CT11:46 AM ET11:46 ET15:46 GMT23:46 8:46 AM MST10:46 AM EST11:16 AM VEN19:46 UAE10:46 AM CT-Carpenter hit his first home run of the season Friday, a two-run shot in the first inning of the Cardinals' loss to the Yankees.
Analysis: The three-time All-Star is still off to a slow start, hitting just .209 thus far and entering Friday's matchup with only two RBIs through his first nine games. Carpenter's track record says he'll bounce back and put up solid fantasy numbers in several categories before the year is out.
Apr. 12 6:24 PM PT7:24 PM MT8:24 PM CT9:24 PM ET21:24 ET1:24 GMT9:24 6:24 PM MST8:24 PM EST8:54 PM VEN5:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Carpenter didn't have a hit Wednesday but walked twice, scored twice and drove in a run.
Analysis: Carpenter was back in the lineup after back stiffness kept him out of the starting lineup Tuesday. He's batting just .192 but has drawn seven walks.
Apr. 9 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-Carpenter singled and walked in Sunday's 8-0 loss to the Reds.
Analysis: Carpenter is off to a sluggish start to the season, going 3 for 20 with four walks. He is still seeking his first extra-base hit. The Cardinals visit the nation's capital on Monday, and Carpenter was just 4 for 22 with six strikeouts against Washington pitching in 2016.
Mar. 9 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-In the lineup for defensive purposes only - he's now the full-time first baseman - Carpenter batted ninth against Houston. He'd missed Grapefruit League games for more than a week because of his back problem and had been forced him to withdraw from the World Baseball Classic.
Analysis: Carpenter spent the past couple days hitting off a tee and expects to be cleared to take full swings in the batting cage by Monday. He figures he'll be ready to take unrestricted hacks in game by the beginning of next weekend.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 StL 7 15 0 1 1 0 0 0 4 4 0 0 .067 .263 .133
2012 StL 114 296 44 87 22 5 6 46 34 63 1 1 .294 .365 .463
2013 StL 157 626 126 199 55 7 11 78 72 98 3 3 .318 .392 .481
2014 StL 158 595 99 162 33 2 8 59 95 111 5 3 .272 .375 .375
2015 StL 154 574 101 156 44 3 28 84 81 151 4 3 .272 .365 .505
2016 StL 129 473 81 128 36 6 21 68 81 108 0 4 .271 .380 .505
2017 StL 45 155 23 35 5 1 9 27 34 43 1 1 .226 .369 .445
Career 764 2734 474 768 196 24 83 362 401 578 14 15 .281 .376 .461

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 StL Total 9 14 3 4 1 0 1 3 3 5 0 0 .286 .412 .571
    WC 1 1 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
    LDS 5 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 3 9 3 3 1 0 1 2 3 2 0 0 .333 .500 .778
2013 StL Total 17 69 8 15 3 1 0 4 4 17 1 0 .217 .263 .290
    LDS 5 19 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 6 0 0 .053 .143 .053
    LCS 6 23 4 6 2 1 0 2 3 5 1 0 .261 .333 .435
    WS 6 27 3 8 1 0 0 2 0 6 0 0 .296 .286 .333
2014 StL Total 9 36 6 10 4 0 4 8 3 12 0 0 .278 .333 .722
    LDS 4 16 4 6 3 0 3 7 1 4 0 0 .375 .412 1.125
    LCS 5 20 2 4 1 0 1 1 2 8 0 0 .200 .273 .400
2015 StL Total 4 17 3 4 0 0 1 1 1 5 0 0 .235 .278 .412
    LDS 4 17 3 4 0 0 1 1 1 5 0 0 .235 .278 .412
Career 39 136 20 33 8 1 6 16 11 39 1 0 .243 .300 .449


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.