MLB Player Stats - Wade Miley - Baltimore

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#38
Wade Miley
ERA W-L K
5.61 8-15 142
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-2 / 195 NFBC ADP: 628.61
Position: SPBorn: 11/13/1986 Birthplace: Hammond, Louisiana
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Supplemental Round by Diamondbacks (2008)


Latest News
Sep. 29 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Wade Miley fell to 8-15, allowing four runs on five hits and five walks in 4.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-0 on Friday. Miley struck out six, ending the game with a 5.61 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley closed his season - and likely his Orioles career - with five walks. He leads the majors with 93 and went 0-4 with a 12.56 ERA in his final four starts.
Sep. 20 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Wade Miley fell to 8-14, allowing six runs on four hits and four walks in 4.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-0 on Wednesday. Miley struck out four, ending the game with a 5.52 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley failed to complete five innings for the eighth time in 31 starts this season. He's 0-3 with a 13.94 ERA in his last three outings.
Sep. 15 8:40 AM PT9:40 AM MT10:40 AM CT11:40 AM ET11:40 ET15:40 GMT23:40 8:40 AM MST10:40 AM EST11:10 AM VEN19:40 UAE10:40 AM CT-Wade Miley fell to 8-13, allowing six runs on six hits in 0.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 13-5 on Thursday.
Analysis: Miley did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.32 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Miley fell to 8-12, allowing four runs on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-0 on Friday.
Analysis: Miley struck out four, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Wade Miley fell to 8-11, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-2 on Saturday. Miley struck out six, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley completed six innings for the third time in five starts and is 4-2 with a 2.79 ERA in his last seven outings.
Aug. 27 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Wade Miley improved to 8-10, allowing one run on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 2-1 on Sunday. Miley struck out four, ending the game with a 4.99 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: It was the sixth straight start in which Miley allowed three runs or fewer, going 4-1 with a 2.76 ERA over that span.
Aug. 21 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Wade Miley improved to 7-10, allowing two runs on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-3 on Monday. Miley struck out six, ending the game with a 5.11 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley is 2-0 with a 1.38 ERA against Oakland this season. He's 3-1 with a 2.93 ERA in his last five starts overall.
Aug. 16 10:29 PM PT11:29 PM MT12:29 AM CT1:29 AM ET1:29 ET5:29 GMT13:29 10:29 PM MST12:29 AM EST12:59 AM VEN9:29 UAE12:29 AM CT-Wade Miley fell to 6-10, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Seattle Mariners 3-1 on Tuesday. Miley struck out four, ending the game with a 5.21 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 7:48 AM PT8:48 AM MT9:48 AM CT10:48 AM ET10:48 ET14:48 GMT22:48 7:48 AM MST9:48 AM EST10:18 AM VEN18:48 UAE9:48 AM CT-Wade Miley improved to 6-9, allowing one run - zero earned - on three hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-2 on Thursday. Miley struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley pitched beyond the sixth inning for the first time since June 1.
Aug. 5 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Wade Miley allowed two runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-2 on Saturday. Miley struck out five, ending the game with a 5.51 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley also allowed two runs and struck out five over five innings in his previous start, though he wound up winning that outing at Texas. He's still been among the worst starting pitchers in baseball this season, though he does draw a potentially favorable matchup in a visit to Oakland next time out.
July 30 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Wade Miley improved to 5-9, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Texas Rangers 10-6 on Sunday. Miley struck out five, ending the game with a 5.60 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley had one of his best starts of his dismal season but still has completed six innings just once in his last 11 outings.
July 25 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Wade Miley fell to 4-9, allowing five runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Tuesday. Miley struck out four, ending the game with a 5.69 ERA and 1.79 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The left-hander allowed all five runs in the second inning as he dropped to 2-6 with a 9.69 ERA in his last 10 starts.
July 20 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Wade Miley allowed five runs on seven hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Texas Rangers 9-7 on Thursday. Miley struck out three, ending the game with a 5.58 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
July 15 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Wade Miley fell to 4-8, allowing seven runs on nine hits and four walks in 4.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago Cubs 10-3 on Saturday. Miley struck out four, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley had another dismal outing and is 2-5 with a 10.19 ERA in his last eight starts. He hasn't completed six innings in any of those outings, last accomplishing that on June 1.
July 8 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Wade Miley improved to 4-7, allowing one run on eight hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Minnesota Twins 5-1 on Saturday. Miley struck out four, ending the game with a 4.97 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley had failed to finish three innings in three of his previous six starts, an awful stretch that saw his ERA balloon from 2.82 to 5.20. Manager Buck Showalter, though, decided to give Miley one last start before the All-Star break to see if he could alter the course of his season.
July 3 3:06 PM PT4:06 PM MT5:06 PM CT6:06 PM ET18:06 ET22:06 GMT6:06 3:06 PM MST5:06 PM EST5:36 PM VEN2:06 UAE (+1)5:06 PM CT-Wade Miley fell to 3-7, allowing seven runs on seven hits and two walks in 1.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-1 on Monday. Miley struck out two, ending the game with a 5.20 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley's struggles continued as he dropped to 1-4 with an 11.69 ERA in his last six starts.
June 28 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Wade Miley fell to 3-6, allowing four runs - three earned - on six hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-0 on Wednesday. Miley struck out five, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
June 22 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Wade Miley fell to 3-5, allowing four runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-3 on Thursday. Miley struck out three, ending the game with a 4.48 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley is 1-2 with a 10.91 ERA in his last four starts. He's walked 10 and allowed a whopping 28 hits in 15 2/3 innings in those games.
June 17 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Wade Miley improved to 3-4, allowing six runs - five earned - on six hits and four walks in 5.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 15-7 on Saturday. Miley struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After failing to make it out of the third inning in each of his previous two starts, Miley lasted a bit longer in this one while benefiting from Baltimore's offensive barrage. With a 12.66 ERA over his last three appearances, the left-hander isn't a very attractive fantasy play in Thursday's home matchup with the Indians.
June 13 8:25 AM PT9:25 AM MT10:25 AM CT11:25 AM ET11:25 ET15:25 GMT23:25 8:25 AM MST10:25 AM EST10:55 AM VEN19:25 UAE10:25 AM CT-Wade Miley fell to 2-4, allowing six runs on six hits and two walks in 2.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 10-7 on Monday. Miley did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.97 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley came into his June 7 start with a 2.82 ERA, but he's lasted a combined five innings and allowed 10 runs over his last two starts.
June 7 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Wade Miley allowed four runs on eight hits and two walks in 2.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-6 on Wednesday. Miley struck out four, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley hasn't made it past the fifth inning in seven of his 12 starts. He has a 4.39 ERA in his last five starts after posting a 2.45 mark in his first seven.
June 1 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Wade Miley improved to 2-3, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-5 on Thursday. Miley struck out three, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 27 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Wade Miley fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on eight hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Houston Astros 5-2 on Saturday. Miley struck out two, ending the game with a 3.02 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley allowed four runs for the second time in three starts after holding opponents to three or fewer in each of his first seven. He's winless since April 14.
May 21 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Miley fell to 1-2, allowing three runs - zero earned - on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-1 on Sunday.
Analysis: Miley struck out three, ending the game with a 2.59 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
May 17 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-Wade Miley allowed four runs on eight hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Detroit Tigers 13-11 on Tuesday. Miley struck out three, ending the game with a 3.02 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
May 10 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Wade Miley allowed two runs on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Washington Nationals 7-6 on Wednesday. Miley struck out five, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley next takes the ball Tuesday at Detroit, and he in his only career start against the Tigers on Aug. 8, 2015, he was tagged for five runs and nine hits in six innings.
May 5 5:13 PM PT6:13 PM MT7:13 PM CT8:13 PM ET20:13 ET0:13 GMT8:13 5:13 PM MST7:13 PM EST7:43 PM VEN4:13 UAE (+1)7:13 PM CT-Miley was struck by two consecutive line drives in the first inning and removed from Baltimore's game against the Chicago White Sox.
Analysis: After Jose Abreu hit Miley on the left wrist with a comebacker, the pitcher was examined by a trainer, insisted he was OK and stayed in the game. Two pitches later, Avisail Garcia ripped a liner that struck Miley in the back of the left leg. He scrambled to his feet, but that was the last of his 12 pitches Friday night.
Apr. 30 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)6:33 PM CT-Wade Miley allowed two runs on eight hits and five walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Yankees 7-4 on Sunday. Miley struck out six, ending the game with a 2.32 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Miley was wild again with five walks in five innings, but managed to limit the damage and allowed two runs or fewer for the fourth time in five starts. His 19 walks lead the AL.
Apr. 20 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Miley allowed a run and two hits while matching a career high with 11 strikeouts in eight innings in Thursday's 10-inning win over the Reds.
Analysis: Miley walked just one batter and has shown excellent control over his last two starts, compiling 19 strikeouts to one walk over 14 innings. He is next slated to take the ball Tuesday against the Rays - a team he owns a 2.60 ERA against in nine starts.
Apr. 9 4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)6:38 PM CT-There was a lot of good - five scoreless innings - and a lot of bad - a career high-tying seven walks - Sunday for Miley in his season debut.
Analysis: Miley, activated off the disabled list Sunday, also walked seven against Colorado on April 27, 2013, and at Toronto on July 2, 2015. His next start is scheduled for Friday at Toronto.
Mar. 30 5:22 PM PT6:22 PM MT7:22 PM CT8:22 PM ET20:22 ET0:22 GMT8:22 5:22 PM MST7:22 PM EST7:52 PM VEN4:22 UAE (+1)7:22 PM CT-Miley (illness) is scheduled to start Sunday against the Yankees.
Analysis: The left-hander went 2-5 with a 6.17 ERA in 11 starts for Baltimore last season after being acquired from Seattle.
Mar. 3 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Miley gave up four runs - three earned - and five hits in one inning Thursday, leaving after Elias Diaz's liner hit off his left forearm and ribcage.
Analysis: We'll provide an update once we know more about Miley's condition.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 Ari 4 2 0 - 0 8 7 0 40.0 48 20 20 6 18 0 25 1.65 4.50
2012 Ari 16 11 0 - 0 32 29 0 194.2 193 79 72 14 37 0 144 1.18 3.33
2013 Ari 10 10 0 - 0 33 33 0 202.2 201 88 80 21 66 4 147 1.32 3.55
2014 Ari 8 12 0 - 0 33 33 0 201.1 207 103 97 23 75 3 183 1.40 4.34
2015 Bos 11 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 193.2 201 98 96 17 64 0 147 1.37 4.46
2016 Sea 7 8 0 - 0 19 19 1 112.0 117 62 62 18 34 1 82 1.35 4.98
2016 Bal 2 5 0 - 0 11 11 0 54.0 70 38 37 7 15 0 55 1.57 6.17
2016 Tot 9 13 0 - 0 30 30 1 166.0 187 100 99 25 49 1 137 1.42 5.37
2017 Bal 8 15 0 - 0 32 32 0 157.1 179 104 98 25 93 1 142 1.73 5.61
Career 66 74 0 - 0 200 196 2 1155.2 1216 592 562 131 402 9 925 1.40 4.38

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Ari 8 13 1 1 0 0 0 1 2 2 0 0 .077 .200 .077
2012 Ari 32 65 4 11 2 0 0 2 2 20 0 0 .169 .194 .200
2013 Ari 34 60 2 8 3 0 1 8 1 16 0 0 .133 .148 .233
2014 Ari 33 57 3 9 0 0 0 1 3 14 0 0 .158 .200 .158
2015 Bos 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Sea 19 7 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2016 Bal 11 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2016 Tot 30 11 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .182 .182 .182
2017 Bal 32 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 201 212 11 32 5 0 1 12 8 55 0 0 .151 .182 .189


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1641 95 84 90.9 53.73
Curveball 319 81 73 77.1 10.45
Slider 417 88 80 84.1 13.65
Changeup 322 86 77 83 10.54
Cut Fastball 355 92 85 88.6 11.62

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.