MLB Player Stats - Byron Buxton - Minnesota

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#25
Byron Buxton
AVG HR RBI
.138 0 1
Team: MinnesotaHt / Wt: 6-2 / 189 NFBC ADP: 139.25
Position: CFBorn: 12/18/1993 Birthplace: Baxley, Georgia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Twins (2012)


Latest News
Apr. 29 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Byron Buxton went 0 for 3 Friday as the Minnesota Twins topped the Kansas City Royals 6-4. Buxton scored once. He ended the game with a .138 batting average.
Apr. 15 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Buxton went 0 for 3 again in Friday's loss to the White Sox.
Analysis: Buxton has been sensational in the field but has struggled mightily at the plate. He is hitting .081 with a league-leading 20 strikeouts.
Apr. 12 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-The slumping Buxton wasn't in the starting lineup Wednesday, only getting used as a pinch runner in the ninth.
Analysis: Buxton struggled mightily during the first seven games, going 2 for 29 (.069) with a major league-leading 17 strikeouts. "Given how things have gone, it seems like a good day to back him off," manager Paul Molitor said.
Apr. 8 7:51 AM PT8:51 AM MT9:51 AM CT10:51 AM ET10:51 ET14:51 GMT22:51 7:51 AM MST9:51 AM EST10:21 AM VEN18:51 UAE9:51 AM CT-Buxton went 0 for 4 with four strikeouts Friday.
Analysis: Buxton is a top-notch defender in the outfield, but he remains a dud at the plate while going 1 for 18 with 11 strikeouts on the young season.
Apr. 5 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Buxton struck out three times for the second straight game in Wednesday's 9-1 win over the Royals. The young outfielder has one infield single through two games.
Analysis: Buxton also got off to a slow start to the 2016 season, batting .154 with 13 strikeouts in his first 12 games. Buxton is being counted on to have a breakout season after looking overmatched at times at the plate last season. Manager Paul Molitor is hitting Buxton third in the order, a spot generally given to one of the team's top hitters.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Min 46 129 16 27 7 1 2 6 6 44 2 2 .209 .250 .326
2016 Min 92 298 44 67 19 6 10 38 23 118 10 2 .225 .284 .430
2017 Min 21 65 4 9 2 0 0 1 8 29 2 0 .138 .243 .169
Career 159 492 64 103 28 7 12 45 37 191 14 4 .209 .270 .368


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.