MLB Player Stats - Steven Souza Jr. - Tampa Bay

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#20
Steven Souza Jr.
AVG HR RBI
.277 8 29
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225 NFBC ADP: 346.09
Position: RFBorn: 4/24/1989 Birthplace: Everett, Washington
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Nationals (2007)


Latest News
May 28 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 3 for 7 with two RBIs Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Minnesota Twins 8-6. Souza Jr. added a stolen base. He ended the game with a .262 batting average.
May 27 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)6:46 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Minnesota Twins 5-3. He ended the game with a .255 batting average.
May 26 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Minnesota Twins 5-2. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
Analysis: After batting a horrific .119 (8 for 67) during a nearly month-long stretch, Souza is 4 for 8 with three dingers over his last three games. He's been exceptionally streaky throughout the season, which could bode well for his outlook for the remainder of this series.
May 25 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 1 Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Los Angeles Angels 4-0. He ended the game with a .260 batting average.
May 24 8:54 PM PT9:54 PM MT10:54 PM CT11:54 PM ET23:54 ET3:54 GMT11:54 8:54 PM MST10:54 PM EST11:24 PM VEN7:54 UAE (+1)10:54 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 2 for 3 with two home runs and three RBIs Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Los Angeles Angels 5-2. The homers were his sixth and seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .255 batting average.
Analysis: Souza went into the game hitting just .119 in his last 20 games, with six RBIs in 67 at-bats during that stretch.
May 23 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 4-0. He ended the game with a .247 batting average.
Analysis: It's been a rough month for the right fielder, who's hitting .107 (6 for 56) with 26 strikeouts and one home run in May. Souza batted .330 with four homers and 17 RBIs in 25 games in April.
May 21 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the New York Yankees 3-2. He ended the game with a .250 batting average.
Analysis: It's been a rough month for the right fielder, who's hitting a paltry .111 (6 for 54) with 25 strikeouts and one home run in May. Souza batted .330 with four homers and 17 RBIs in 25 games in April.
May 20 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the New York Yankees 9-5. He ended the game with a .255 batting average.
May 19 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 2 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the New York Yankees 5-4. He ended the game with a .255 batting average.
Analysis: Souza struck out two more times, giving him 22 in 47 at-bats in 13 games in May. He's 5 for 47 in those contests.
May 17 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 4 with a double Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Cleveland Indians 7-4. Souza Jr. scored once. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
May 16 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 4 with a double Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Cleveland Indians 6-4. Souza Jr. scored once. He ended the game with a .259 batting average.
Analysis: Souza struck out three more times, giving him 19 in 41 at-bats in 11 games in May. He's 4 for 41 in those contests.
May 15 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 3 with an RBI Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Cleveland Indians 8-7. He ended the game with a .260 batting average.
May 14 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 5 with a home run and three RBIs Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Boston Red Sox 11-2. The homer was his fifth of the season. Souza Jr. scored twice. He ended the game with a .266 batting average.
May 13 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Boston Red Sox 6-3. He ended the game with a .268 batting average.
Analysis: Souza missed the previous four games after exiting Monday's loss to Kansas City with a bruised right thumb. After a blistering start, Souza is just 4 for 40 with 17 strikeouts over his last 11 games.
May 11 12:51 PM PT1:51 PM MT2:51 PM CT3:51 PM ET15:51 ET19:51 GMT3:51 12:51 PM MST2:51 PM EST3:21 PM VEN23:51 UAE2:51 PM CT-Rays manager Kevin Cash said he's expecting Souza (hand) to be back in the lineup for Saturday's game at Boston.
Analysis: The right fielder missed his fourth straight game Friday since exiting Monday's loss to Kansas City with a bruised right thumb. After a blistering start, Souza is just 4 for 36 with 15 strikeouts over his last 10 games.
May 8 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 3 Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-3. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
Analysis: Souza is just 4 for 36 with 15 strikeouts over his last 10 games.
May 7 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 3 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1. He ended the game with a .284 batting average.
May 6 4:47 PM PT5:47 PM MT6:47 PM CT7:47 PM ET19:47 ET23:47 GMT7:47 4:47 PM MST6:47 PM EST7:17 PM VEN3:47 UAE (+1)6:47 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Toronto Blue Jays 6-1. He ended the game with a .283 batting average.
Analysis: Souza is just 1 for 19 with eight strikeouts over his last five games, though he's walked five times over that span.
May 5 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)10:41 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 2 with an RBI Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4. He ended the game with a .291 batting average.
Analysis: Souza walked three times, but he's just 1 for 16 with seven strikeouts over his last four games.
May 4 10:09 PM PT11:09 PM MT12:09 AM CT1:09 AM ET1:09 ET5:09 GMT13:09 10:09 PM MST12:09 AM EST12:39 AM VEN9:09 UAE12:09 AM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 5 Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Miami Marlins 10-6. He ended the game with a .296 batting average.
Analysis: Souza is just 1 for 14 with seven strikeouts in the first three games of this series with the Marlins and is batting .204 in 19 career games against them.
May 2 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Miami Marlins 3-1. He ended the game with a .311 batting average.
Analysis: Souza has cooled off some, as he's 3 for 20 with nine strikeouts over his last five games.
May 1 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 0 for 5 with an RBI Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Miami Marlins 4-2. He ended the game with a .313 batting average.
Analysis: Souza returned after sitting out Sunday. He left Saturday's loss to the Blue Jays in the seventh inning after being hit on the left hand by a fastball.
Apr. 29 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Souza (hand) is in the Rays' lineup for Monday's game in Miami after sitting out Sunday.
Analysis: Souza left Saturday's loss to the Blue Jays in the seventh inning after being hit on the left hand by a fastball from Joe Biagini. An X-ray came up negative, however. The outfielder is off to a great start, batting .330 with four homers, six doubles, a triple, 17 RBIs and 14 runs in 25 games.
Apr. 28 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)10:45 PM CT-Steven Souza Jr. went 1 for 4 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Toronto Blue Jays 7-4. He ended the game with a .326 batting average.
Apr. 26 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Souza Jr. had three hits for the Rays in Tuesday's win over the Orioles.
Analysis: Souza has reached base safely in 12 games, batting .383 with three homers, 11 RBIs, 10 runs and five walks. His 23 times on base since April 14 are tied for the fifth-most in the majors.
Apr. 24 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Souza had his seven-game hitting streak snapped Monday at Baltimore.
Analysis: Souza received an exciting present for his 28th birthday Monday: He was selected the AL Player of the Week. Souza batted .414 with three home runs and nine RBIs.
Apr. 23 4:29 PM PT5:29 PM MT6:29 PM CT7:29 PM ET19:29 ET23:29 GMT7:29 4:29 PM MST6:29 PM EST6:59 PM VEN3:29 UAE (+1)6:29 PM CT-Souza continued his hot streak with a homer and two RBIs Sunday against Houston.
Analysis: Souza is batting .414 (12 for 29) with two home runs, nine RBIs and 10 strikeouts during a seven-game hitting streak.
Apr. 20 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Souza finished a single short of the cycle Thursday, going 3 for 5 with three RBIs and three runs scored against the Tigers.
Analysis: He's batting .349 with 15 RBIs in 17 games this season, and is 8 for 17 with seven runs driven in over his last four contests.
Apr. 17 4:17 PM PT5:17 PM MT6:17 PM CT7:17 PM ET19:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)6:17 PM CT-Souza had two hits and drove in a pair in the Rays' 4-3 loss to the Red Sox on Monday.
Analysis: Souza is now hitting .320 with a .424 on-base percentage.
Apr. 15 9:20 PM PT10:20 PM MT11:20 PM CT12:20 AM ET0:20 ET4:20 GMT12:20 9:20 PM MST11:20 PM EST11:50 PM VEN8:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Souza went 2 for 4 with a home run in Friday's win over the Red Sox.
Analysis: After hitting .247 last season, Souza is batting .325 with six extra-base hits and eight RBIs so far.
Apr. 9 3:50 PM PT4:50 PM MT5:50 PM CT6:50 PM ET18:50 ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST5:50 PM EST6:20 PM VEN2:50 UAE (+1)5:50 PM CT-Souza clubbed a three-run homer and finished 1 for 2 with a pair of walks and two runs scored to help the Rays to Sunday's 7-2 win over Tampa Bay.
Analysis: The right fielder is swinging a hot bat, as he's 10 for 21 with a .577 on-base percentage over a six-game hitting streak and has knocked in six runs over his last three contests. Souza could stay that way when he faces Michael Pineda on Monday, as he's 10 for 21 with four homers off the Yankees' right-hander.
Apr. 6 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Souza continued his hot start with three hits, including a pair of doubles, in Thursday's loss to Toronto.
Analysis: Souza is 6 for 14 with two walks in four games this season. He's batting .396 (21 for 53) with four homers in his last 15 games dating to 2016.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Was 21 23 2 3 0 0 2 2 3 7 0 0 .130 .231 .391
2015 TB 110 373 59 84 15 1 16 40 46 144 12 6 .225 .318 .399
2016 TB 120 430 58 106 17 1 17 49 31 159 7 6 .247 .303 .409
2017 TB 48 173 25 48 10 1 8 29 30 59 1 1 .277 .388 .486
Career 299 999 144 241 42 3 43 120 110 369 20 13 .241 .323 .418


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.