MLB Player Stats - Luis Cessa - NY Yankees

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#85
Luis Cessa
ERA S K
4.75 0 30
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-0 / 204 NFBC ADP: 624.83
Position: RPBorn: 4/25/1992 Birthplace: Cordoba, Mexico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mets (2008)


Latest News
Aug. 15 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Cessa has been placed on the disabled list with a ribcage injury.
Analysis: Cessa had been called up Monday for a spot start but had to leave with the injury after 4 1/3 innings. The 25-year-old right-hander has bounced back and forth between the minors and majors this season. Though this injury doesn't appear to be serious, it's possible he won't get another turn in the Yankees' rotation with CC Sabathia expected to return this weekend.
Aug. 15 10:31 PM PT11:31 PM MT12:31 AM CT1:31 AM ET1:31 ET5:31 GMT13:31 10:31 PM MST12:31 AM EST1:01 AM VEN9:31 UAE12:31 AM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two runs on five hits and one walk before leaving the New York Yankees' 4-2 win over the New York Mets on Monday after 4.1 innings with an upper back injury. Cessa struck out five, ending the game with a 4.75 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Cessa was making a spot start in place of the injured CC Sabathia, who may be able to come off the DL for his next scheduled turn Saturday at Boston. Though the injury doesn't seem to be overly serious, it likely ensures he won't be making another one later this week.
July 30 3:21 PM PT4:21 PM MT5:21 PM CT6:21 PM ET18:21 ET22:21 GMT6:21 3:21 PM MST5:21 PM EST5:51 PM VEN2:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit and four walks without giving up a run in 3.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-3 on Sunday. Cessa struck out four, ending the game with a 4.83 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 26 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed three runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Cincinnati Reds 9-5 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 18 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed three runs on four hits and four walks in 3.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-3 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 4.61 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 8 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE11:43 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed three hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 9-4 on Friday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 4 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed five hits without giving up a run in 4.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-1 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out three, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 30 9:55 AM PT10:55 AM MT11:55 AM CT12:55 PM ET12:55 ET16:55 GMT0:55 9:55 AM MST11:55 AM EST12:25 PM VEN20:55 UAE11:55 AM CT-Luis Cessa fell to 0-3, allowing four runs - two earned - on five hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 4-3 on Thursday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 5.82 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The right-hander did record eight strikeouts in his previous assignment, but he's posted an unimpressive 5.93 ERA while losing each of his three starts since being recalled from the minors. With CC Sabathia a possibility to return next week, Cessa could soon be back in Triple A.
June 24 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Luis Cessa fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Texas Rangers 8-1 on Saturday. Cessa struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.57 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Cessa has dropped both starts behind a 7.00 ERA since replacing an injured CC Sabathia in New York's rotation.
June 19 8:19 AM PT9:19 AM MT10:19 AM CT11:19 AM ET11:19 ET15:19 GMT23:19 8:19 AM MST10:19 AM EST10:49 AM VEN19:19 UAE10:19 AM CT-Luis Cessa fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-3 on Sunday. Cessa struck out four, ending the game with a 7.36 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Cessa will make at least one more start with CC Sabathia on the DL, according to Joe Girardi. But if he pitches like this again, that may be it.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 NYY 4 4 0 - 0 17 9 0 70.1 64 36 34 16 14 0 46 1.11 4.35
2017 NYY 0 3 0 - 0 10 5 0 36.0 36 21 19 7 17 0 30 1.47 4.75
Career 4 7 0 - 0 27 14 0 106.1 100 57 53 23 31 0 76 1.23 4.49



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 261 100 91 95.5 41.83
Curveball 53 84 79 81 8.49
Slider 189 90 82 85.9 30.29
Changeup 121 91 83 86.6 19.39

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.