MLB Player Stats - Luis Castillo - Cincinnati

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#58
Luis Castillo
ERA W-L K
3.98 8-16 192
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 200
Position: SPBorn: 12/12/1992 Birthplace: Bani, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Giants (2011)


Latest News
Oct. 1 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed one run on six hits and three walks in 5.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-2 on Friday. Castillo struck out five, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 27 7:44 AM PT8:44 AM MT9:44 AM CT10:44 AM ET10:44 ET14:44 GMT22:44 7:44 AM MST9:44 AM EST8:44 AM CST10:14 AM VEN18:44 UAE8:44 AM CT-Castillo came off the bereavement/family medical emergency list Thursday and is scheduled to start Friday at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: After having a 7.22 ERA through May, Castillo has posted a 2.77 ERA in his last 21 starts but is just 7-8 over that stretch.
Sep. 23 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 8-16, allowing two runs on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Washington Nationals 3-2 on Thursday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)7:50 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 8-15, allowing five hits and two walks over 6.1 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-1 on Friday. Castillo struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed four runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-4 on Saturday. Castillo struck out five, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)2:13 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 7-15, allowing three runs - one earned - on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-1 on Sunday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 6:34 PM PT7:34 PM MT8:34 PM CT9:34 PM ET21:34 ET1:34 GMT9:34 6:34 PM MST8:34 PM EST7:34 PM CST9:04 PM VEN5:34 UAE (+1)7:34 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 7-14, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 3-1 on Monday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.30 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)9:27 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 7-13, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-1 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 7-12, allowing one run on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Miami Marlins 6-1 on Thursday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 6-12, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-1 on Saturday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.51 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 6:27 PM PT7:27 PM MT8:27 PM CT9:27 PM ET21:27 ET1:27 GMT9:27 6:27 PM MST8:27 PM EST7:27 PM CST8:57 PM VEN5:27 UAE (+1)7:27 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 6-11, allowing eight runs on seven hits and three walks in 3.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Cleveland Indians 9-3 on Monday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE1:59 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 6-10, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-5 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
July 29 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET21:36 GMT5:36 2:36 PM MST4:36 PM EST3:36 PM CST5:06 PM VEN1:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 5-10, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Chicago Cubs 7-4 on Thursday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 24 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)8:11 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 4-10, allowing one run - zero earned - on four hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Saturday. Castillo struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 18 10:09 PM PT11:09 PM MT12:09 AM CT1:09 AM ET1:09 ET5:09 GMT13:09 10:09 PM MST12:09 AM EST11:09 PM CST12:39 AM VEN9:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed five hits and three walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-4 on Saturday. Castillo struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 11 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST4:02 PM CST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed one run on three hits and six walks in 5.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 3-1 on Sunday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 4.65 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 7 9:19 PM PT10:19 PM MT11:19 PM CT12:19 AM ET0:19 ET4:19 GMT12:19 9:19 PM MST11:19 PM EST10:19 PM CST11:49 PM VEN8:19 UAE10:19 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-6 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out four, ending the game with a 4.81 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 2 9:50 PM PT10:50 PM MT11:50 PM CT12:50 AM ET0:50 ET4:50 GMT12:50 9:50 PM MST11:50 PM EST10:50 PM CST12:20 AM VEN8:50 UAE10:50 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed three runs on five hits and three walks in 6.1 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the San Diego Padres 5-4 on Thursday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 5.08 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
June 26 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST4:51 PM CST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 3-10, allowing six hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-1 on Saturday. Castillo struck out six, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 20 4:17 PM PT5:17 PM MT6:17 PM CT7:17 PM ET19:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST5:17 PM CST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 2-10, allowing three runs - two earned - on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Sunday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.61 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
June 16 10:00 PM PT11:00 PM MT12:00 AM CT1:00 AM ET1:00 ET5:00 GMT13:00 10:00 PM MST12:00 AM EST11:00 PM CST12:30 AM VEN9:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed three hits and three walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.83 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
June 16 10:00 PM PT11:00 PM MT12:00 AM CT1:00 AM ET1:00 ET5:00 GMT13:00 10:00 PM MST12:00 AM EST11:00 PM CST12:30 AM VEN9:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed three hits and three walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.83 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
June 10 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST2:37 PM CST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)2:37 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 2-9, allowing three runs on one hit and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-2 on Thursday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.47 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
June 4 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST9:46 PM CST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 2-8, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-4 on Friday. Castillo struck out five, ending the game with a 6.63 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
May 29 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST3:37 PM CST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-8, allowing four runs - two earned - on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 10-2 on Saturday. Castillo struck out three, ending the game with a 7.22 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
May 23 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST2:47 PM CST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)2:47 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-7, allowing five runs on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 9-4 on Sunday. Castillo struck out five, ending the game with a 7.61 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
May 18 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST7:36 PM CST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-6, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Francisco Giants 4-2 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out 11, ending the game with a 7.44 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
May 14 9:23 PM PT10:23 PM MT11:23 PM CT12:23 AM ET0:23 ET4:23 GMT12:23 9:23 PM MST11:23 PM EST10:23 PM CST11:53 PM VEN8:23 UAE10:23 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-5, allowing eight runs on 10 hits and two walks in 3.2 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Colorado Rockies 13-8 on Thursday. Castillo struck out three, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 1.79 WHIP on the season.
May 8 6:23 PM PT7:23 PM MT8:23 PM CT9:23 PM ET21:23 ET1:23 GMT9:23 6:23 PM MST8:23 PM EST7:23 PM CST8:53 PM VEN5:23 UAE (+1)7:23 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-4, allowing six runs - four earned - on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Cleveland Indians 9-2 on Saturday. Castillo struck out two, ending the game with a 6.42 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
May 1 4:35 PM PT5:35 PM MT6:35 PM CT7:35 PM ET19:35 ET23:35 GMT7:35 4:35 PM MST6:35 PM EST5:35 PM CST7:05 PM VEN3:35 UAE (+1)5:35 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-3, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Saturday. Castillo struck out five, ending the game with a 6.07 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST3:15 PM CST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 1-2, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-2 on Sunday. Castillo struck out three, ending the game with a 6.29 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 3:14 PM PT4:14 PM MT5:14 PM CT6:14 PM ET18:14 ET22:14 GMT6:14 3:14 PM MST5:14 PM EST4:14 PM CST5:44 PM VEN2:14 UAE (+1)4:14 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed three runs - one earned - on seven hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-4 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out four, ending the game with a 6.05 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Luis Castillo allowed four runs on seven hits in 5.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the San Francisco Giants 7-6 on Tuesday. Castillo struck out seven, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 12:17 PM PT1:17 PM MT2:17 PM CT3:17 PM ET15:17 ET19:17 GMT3:17 12:17 PM MST2:17 PM EST1:17 PM CST2:47 PM VEN23:17 UAE1:17 PM CT-Luis Castillo improved to 1-1, allowing four hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 11-4 on Wednesday. Castillo struck out five, ending the game with a 6.97 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST5:58 PM CST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-Luis Castillo fell to 0-1, allowing 10 runs - eight earned - on eight hits and two walks in 3.1 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 11-6 on Thursday. Castillo did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 21.60 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 Cin 3 7 0 - 0 15 15 0 89.1 64 32 31 11 32 1 98 1.07 3.12
2018 Cin 10 12 0 - 0 31 31 0 169.2 158 89 81 28 49 1 165 1.22 4.30
2019 Cin 15 8 0 - 0 32 32 0 190.2 139 76 72 22 79 0 226 1.14 3.40
2020 Cin 4 6 0 - 0 12 12 1 70.0 62 31 25 5 24 0 89 1.23 3.21
2021 Cin 8 16 0 - 0 33 33 0 187.2 181 94 83 19 75 4 192 1.36 3.98
Career 40 49 0 - 0 123 123 1 707.1 604 322 292 85 259 6 770 1.22 3.72

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Cin 15 29 0 2 0 0 0 1 1 11 0 0 .069 .100 .069
2018 Cin 31 59 4 6 1 0 0 2 2 23 0 0 .102 .131 .119
2019 Cin 32 62 3 6 1 0 0 0 0 32 0 0 .097 .097 .113
2021 Cin 33 49 1 8 2 0 0 2 1 23 0 0 .163 .180 .204
Career 123 199 8 22 4 0 0 5 4 89 0 0 .111 .128 .131

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2020 Cin Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 6 1 1 0 1 1 7 1.69
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 6 1 1 0 1 1 7 1.69
Career 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 6 1 1 0 1 1 7 1.69


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1650 101 93 97.3 52.15
Slider 549 90 82 86.4 17.35
Changeup 965 92 83 88.4 30.5

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.