MLB Player Stats - Derek Norris - Tampa Bay

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#33
Derek Norris
AVG HR RBI
.224 4 13
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-0 / 235 NFBC ADP: 318.18
Position: CBorn: 2/14/1989 Birthplace: Goddard, Kansas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 4th Round by Nationals (2007)


Latest News
May 22 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 2 Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Los Angeles Angels 3-2. He ended the game with a .224 batting average.
May 21 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 3-2. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .228 batting average.
Analysis: The homer was Norris' second in three games and he's scored a run in six straight as his bat looks to be coming around. The Tampa catcher is 8 for 25 over his last eight games.
May 19 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 3 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the New York Yankees 5-4. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .225 batting average.
May 16 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Cleveland Indians 6-4. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is 7 for 19 (.368) with five runs in his last six games.
May 15 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Derek Norris went 2 for 4 with a double Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Cleveland Indians 8-7. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is 6 for 15 with four runs and three walks over his last five games. He's batting .324 in 11 contests in May after hitting .186 in 20 games in April.
May 13 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 2 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-3. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
May 12 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Derek Norris went 2 for 4 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Boston Red Sox 5-4. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .224 batting average.
May 11 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 2 Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Kansas City Royals 6-0. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
May 10 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Derek Norris went 2 for 3 with an RBI Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Kansas City Royals 12-1. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .217 batting average.
May 8 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 3 Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Kansas City Royals 7-3. He ended the game with a .202 batting average.
May 6 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Toronto Blue Jays 6-1. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
Analysis: Norris was 9 for 25 (.360) with two homers, two doubles and four RBIs over his previous eight games.
May 5 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .217 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is 9 for 25 (.360) with two homers, two doubles and four RBIs over his last eight games.
May 5 9:15 AM PT10:15 AM MT11:15 AM CT12:15 PM ET12:15 ET16:15 GMT0:15 9:15 AM MST11:15 AM EST11:45 AM VEN20:15 UAE11:15 AM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 3 Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Miami Marlins 5-1. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
May 2 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Derek Norris went 2 for 4 with an RBI Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Miami Marlins 3-1. He ended the game with a .208 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is 7 for 19 with a homer, two doubles and three RBIs over his last six games.
May 1 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 3 with a double Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Miami Marlins 4-2. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .192 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is 5 for 15 with a homer, two doubles and two RBIs over his last five games.
Apr. 30 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-1. He ended the game with a .186 batting average.
Apr. 28 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Derek Norris went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Toronto Blue Jays 7-4. The homer was his first of the season. He ended the game with a .185 batting average.
Analysis: Norris was 2 for 21 in his previous six games.
Mar. 15 7:56 AM PT8:56 AM MT9:56 AM CT10:56 AM ET10:56 ET14:56 GMT22:56 7:56 AM MST9:56 AM EST10:26 AM VEN18:56 UAE8:56 AM CT-The Nationals have unconditionally released Norris, who at one point appeared to be penciled in as Washington's starting catcher but became expendable after the club signed free agent Matt Wieters. The Nationals announced the move Wednesday via Twitter.
Analysis: Norris, originally a first-round draft pick by Washington in 2007, was reacquired by the team in December via a trade with the San Diego Padres for minor league right-hander Pedro Avila. Norris batted .186 with 14 homers and 42 RBIs with San Diego last season. With Washington's starting catcher in 2016, Wilson Ramos, gone after signing as a free agent with Tampa Bay, Norris was in line for the job.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Oak 60 209 19 42 8 1 7 34 21 66 5 1 .201 .276 .349
2013 Oak 98 264 41 65 16 0 9 30 37 71 5 0 .246 .345 .409
2014 Oak 127 385 46 104 19 1 10 55 54 86 2 2 .270 .361 .403
2015 SD 147 515 65 129 33 2 14 62 35 131 4 1 .250 .305 .404
2016 SD 125 415 50 77 17 0 14 42 36 139 9 2 .186 .255 .328
2017 TB 35 116 14 26 4 0 4 13 10 33 1 0 .224 .292 .362
Career 592 1904 235 443 97 4 58 236 193 526 26 6 .233 .308 .379

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Oak Total 5 12 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 1 .083 .083 .083
    LDS 5 12 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 1 .083 .083 .083
2013 Oak Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Oak Total 1 5 1 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .200
    WC 1 5 1 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .200
Career 7 18 1 2 0 0 0 1 0 9 0 1 .111 .111 .111


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.