MLB Player Stats - Nicholas Castellanos - Detroit

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#9
Nicholas Castellanos
AVG HR RBI
.220 4 25
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-4 / 210 NFBC ADP: 193.37
Position: 3BBorn: 3/4/1992 Birthplace: Davie, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Tigers (2010)


Latest News
May 25 9:31 AM PT10:31 AM MT11:31 AM CT12:31 PM ET12:31 ET16:31 GMT0:31 9:31 AM MST11:31 AM EST12:01 PM VEN20:31 UAE11:31 AM CT-Castellanos was absent from the starting lineup Wednesday for the first time this season, and manager Brad Ausmus said he wouldn't play Thursday, either.
Analysis: Castellanos is in an 0-for-12 slump and has batted .128 in his last 13 games, but likely the bigger reason for the benching is his defense. Castellanos committed his ninth error of the season Tuesday, most in the majors among third basemen. That matches his error total from all of last season.
May 24 10:36 AM PT11:36 AM MT12:36 PM CT1:36 PM ET13:36 ET17:36 GMT1:36 10:36 AM MST12:36 PM EST1:06 PM VEN21:36 UAE12:36 PM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Houston Astros 6-2. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
May 23 8:46 AM PT9:46 AM MT10:46 AM CT11:46 AM ET11:46 ET15:46 GMT23:46 8:46 AM MST10:46 AM EST11:16 AM VEN19:46 UAE10:46 AM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 0 for 3 Monday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Houston Astros 1-0. He ended the game with a .225 batting average.
May 20 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 2 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs Saturday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Texas Rangers 9-3. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .235 batting average.
Analysis: Castellanos went through a 2-for-26 rut over a recent seven-game stretch but seems to be back on solid footing, as he's 4 for 10 while hitting safely in three straight contests. He's also batting .333 (11 for 33) over his last nine home games.
May 18 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Baltimore Orioles 6-5. Castellanos scored once. He ended the game with a .224 batting average.
May 17 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Baltimore Orioles 5-4. He ended the game with a .224 batting average.
May 17 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE12:28 AM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 0 for 5 Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Baltimore Orioles 13-11. He ended the game with a .227 batting average.
Analysis: Castellanos is 2 for 24 with eight strikeouts in his last six games.
May 15 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 1 for 4 with an RBI Sunday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Los Angeles Angels 4-1. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
May 14 9:56 AM PT10:56 AM MT11:56 AM CT12:56 PM ET12:56 ET16:56 GMT0:56 9:56 AM MST11:56 AM EST12:26 PM VEN20:56 UAE11:56 AM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Los Angeles Angels 4-3. He ended the game with a .234 batting average.
May 13 10:31 AM PT11:31 AM MT12:31 PM CT1:31 PM ET13:31 ET17:31 GMT1:31 10:31 AM MST12:31 PM EST1:01 PM VEN21:31 UAE12:31 PM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 0 for 4 Friday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Los Angeles Angels 7-0. He ended the game with a .241 batting average.
May 12 6:48 AM PT7:48 AM MT8:48 AM CT9:48 AM ET9:48 ET13:48 GMT21:48 6:48 AM MST8:48 AM EST9:18 AM VEN17:48 UAE8:48 AM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Los Angeles Angels 7-1. Castellanos scored once. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 11 8:53 AM PT9:53 AM MT10:53 AM CT11:53 AM ET11:53 ET15:53 GMT23:53 8:53 AM MST10:53 AM EST11:23 AM VEN19:53 UAE10:53 AM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-1. He ended the game with a .248 batting average.
May 10 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 1 for 3 with two RBIs Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-3. He ended the game with a .254 batting average.
May 8 7:00 AM PT8:00 AM MT9:00 AM CT10:00 AM ET10:00 ET14:00 GMT22:00 7:00 AM MST9:00 AM EST9:30 AM VEN18:00 UAE9:00 AM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 1 for 4 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Oakland Athletics 8-6. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
May 7 9:27 AM PT10:27 AM MT11:27 AM CT12:27 PM ET12:27 ET16:27 GMT0:27 9:27 AM MST11:27 AM EST11:57 AM VEN20:27 UAE11:27 AM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 2 for 5 with a double and two RBIs Saturday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Oakland Athletics 6-5. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
May 6 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 0 for 4 with an RBI Friday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Oakland Athletics 7-2. He ended the game with a .246 batting average.
May 4 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE11:17 PM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 1 for 4 with a double Wednesday as the Detroit Tigers fell to the Cleveland Indians 3-2. Castellanos scored once. He ended the game with a .255 batting average.
Analysis: Castellanos is heating up a bit, going 7 for 16 with three doubles, two RBIs, three runs and two walks in his last four games.
May 2 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Detroit Tigers topped the Cleveland Indians 5-2. Castellanos scored once. He ended the game with a .255 batting average.
May 2 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 2 for 5 with a double and an RBI Monday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Cleveland Indians 7-1. Castellanos scored once and stole a base. He ended the game with a .252 batting average.
Analysis: Castellanos has a favorable matchup Tuesday, as he's batting .320 in 25 career at-bats against scheduled starter Corey Kluber.
Apr. 30 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-Castellanos went 3 for 4 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Detroit Tigers beat the Chicago White Sox 7-3. He ended the game with a .245 batting average.
Analysis: He went 5 for 12 in the three-game set against Chicago.
Apr. 29 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-4. He ended the game with a .223 batting average.
Apr. 29 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 2 for 4 Friday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-3. Castellanos scored once. He ended the game with a .233 batting average.
Apr. 27 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Nicholas Castellanos went 0 for 3 Thursday as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 2-1. He ended the game with a .221 batting average.
Analysis: He's 1 for 15 with five Ks in his last four games.
Apr. 22 6:14 PM PT7:14 PM MT8:14 PM CT9:14 PM ET21:14 ET1:14 GMT9:14 6:14 PM MST8:14 PM EST8:44 PM VEN5:14 UAE (+1)8:14 PM CT-Castellanos and Justin Upton each hit a solo home run on Saturday for the Tigers, who pulled out a 5-4 win over the Twins.
Analysis: Castellanos has gone 7 for 17 with four extra-base hits and five RBIs in his last four games.
Apr. 20 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Castellanos singled twice and walked Thursday against Tampa Bay.
Analysis: It was his second straight two-hit game following a 3-for-23 stretch.
Apr. 9 4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)6:38 PM CT-Castellanos hit his second homer of the young season and finished 2 for 4 with two runs scored in the Tigers' loss to Boston on Sunday.
Analysis: The 25-year-old has gotten off to a solid start, posting a .263 average with four extra-base hits and five runs scored through Detroit's first five games. Castellanos draws a tough matchup in Monday's series finale, though, as he's 3 for 25 with 12 strikeouts against Boston starter Chris Sale.
Apr. 7 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Castellanos tripled, walked and scored Friday against the Red Sox.
Analysis: His three hits in 11 at-bats so far have been a homer, double and triple. Castellanos has also scored once in each of his first three games.
Apr. 4 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Castellanos hit a two-run homer against the White Sox on Tuesday.
Analysis: Castellanos was hitting .286 with 18 home runs and 58 RBIs in 105 games last season before missing nearly two months with a hand injury. He returned to play in five more games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Det 11 18 1 5 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .278 .278 .278
2014 Det 148 533 50 138 31 4 11 66 36 140 2 2 .259 .306 .394
2015 Det 154 549 42 140 33 6 15 73 39 152 0 3 .255 .303 .419
2016 Det 110 411 54 117 25 4 18 58 28 111 1 1 .285 .331 .496
2017 Det 44 173 21 38 10 3 4 25 16 53 1 1 .220 .295 .382
Career 467 1684 168 438 99 17 48 222 119 457 4 7 .260 .309 .425

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Det Total 3 10 1 1 0 0 1 1 2 1 0 0 .100 .250 .400
    LDS 3 10 1 1 0 0 1 1 2 1 0 0 .100 .250 .400
Career 3 10 1 1 0 0 1 1 2 1 0 0 .100 .250 .400


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.