MLB Player Stats - Matt Andriese - Tampa Bay

 
MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#35
Matt Andriese
ERA W-L K
4.44 5-4 73
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-2 / 225 NFBC ADP: 343.42
Position: SPBorn: 8/29/1989 Birthplace: Redlands, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Padres (2011)


Latest News
Sep. 22 10:55 PM PT11:55 PM MT12:55 AM CT1:55 AM ET1:55 ET5:55 GMT13:55 10:55 PM MST12:55 AM EST1:25 AM VEN9:55 UAE12:55 AM CT-Matt Andriese fell to 5-4, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 3-1 on Thursday. Andriese struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Andriese still hasn't garnered a win since late May, though he did match a career-high in strikeouts and posted his first quality start in four outings since returning from a hip injury. The right-hander is still 0-3 with a 7.20 ERA since coming back.
Sep. 16 10:38 PM PT11:38 PM MT12:38 AM CT1:38 AM ET1:38 ET5:38 GMT13:38 10:38 PM MST12:38 AM EST1:08 AM VEN9:38 UAE12:38 AM CT-Matt Andriese allowed two runs on five hits in 4.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 13-6 on Friday. Andriese struck out three, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Matt Andriese fell to 5-3, allowing eight runs - six earned - on seven hits and two walks in 1.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-0 on Saturday. Andriese struck out two, ending the game with a 4.46 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Andriese made his second start after missing two months with a hip injury. In 6 2/3 innings since his return, Andriese has allowed 11 earned runs.
Sep. 3 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Matt Andriese fell to 5-2, allowing five runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-2 on Sunday. Andriese struck out five, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Andriese made his first start since June 10 after being sidelined with a stress reaction in right hip. He next pitches Saturday at Fenway Park.
Aug. 28 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Matt Andriese recorded his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 3.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 12-0 on Monday. Andriese did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 10 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Andriese (stress reaction in right hip) was taken off the 60-day DL on Monday.
Analysis: Andriese came off the DL on June 10 following a groin strain and lasted just one inning in the second game of a doubleheader against the A's. The right-hander is 5-1 with a 3.54 ERA.
May 31 10:31 AM PT11:31 AM MT12:31 PM CT1:31 PM ET13:31 ET17:31 GMT1:31 10:31 AM MST12:31 PM EST1:01 PM VEN21:31 UAE12:31 PM CT-Andriese (groin strain) is coming off the DL on Saturday to start the second game of a doubleheader against the A's.
Analysis: The injury forced the right-hander to exit his start on May 30 in Texas after just 1 2/3 innings. Andriese is 5-1 with a 3.45 ERA in 11 outings.
May 31 8:42 AM PT9:42 AM MT10:42 AM CT11:42 AM ET11:42 ET15:42 GMT23:42 8:42 AM MST10:42 AM EST11:12 AM VEN19:42 UAE10:42 AM CT-Matt Andriese allowed two runs on three hits in 1.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Texas Rangers 9-5 on Tuesday. Andriese struck out two, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The right-hander, who was 4-0 in May, left in the second with a mild right groin strain. His status is uncertain.
May 30 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Andriese left Tuesday's start at Texas in the second inning due to a mild groin strain.
Analysis: The right-hander appeared to tweak his groin on a pitch that struck out Ryan Rua for the second out of the inning. Andriese, who went 4-0 with a 2.67 ERA over his first five starts of May, allowed a pair of first-inning runs while finishing with two strikeouts.
May 25 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)3:56 PM CT-Matt Andriese improved to 5-1, allowing six hits and two walks over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-0 on Thursday. Andriese struck out five, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Andriese is 4-0 with a 2.67 ERA in five starts this month.
May 20 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Matt Andriese improved to 4-1, allowing five runs on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 9-5 on Saturday. Andriese struck out five, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The right-hander won his second straight start despite his lackluster pitching line and being ejected for hitting Aaron Judge with a pitch to begin the sixth. Andriese has been pretty good this month, compiling a 3-0 record and a 3.63 ERA over his past four assignments.
May 14 6:38 PM PT7:38 PM MT8:38 PM CT9:38 PM ET21:38 ET1:38 GMT9:38 6:38 PM MST8:38 PM EST9:08 PM VEN5:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Matt Andriese improved to 3-1, allowing two runs on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 11-2 on Sunday. Andriese struck out five, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: In his last starts, Andriese is 2-0 with a 2.08 ERA with 20 strikeouts over 17.1 innings. His next outing is Saturday against the Yankees, and in the Bronx on April 13, he permitted a run and five hits in six innings.
May 10 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Matt Andriese allowed three runs - two earned - on five hits and two walks in 5.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-6 on Tuesday. Andriese struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Homers continue to be a bit of an issue for Andriese, but he's limited the damage for the most part and the Rays will take that.
May 5 9:18 AM PT10:18 AM MT11:18 AM CT12:18 PM ET12:18 ET16:18 GMT0:18 9:18 AM MST11:18 AM EST11:48 AM VEN20:18 UAE11:18 AM CT-Andriese improved to 2-1, allowing five hits and three walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Miami Marlins 5-1 on Thursday.
Analysis: Andriese struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Andriese fell to 1-1, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-1 on Saturday.
Analysis: Andriese struck out four, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 4:35 PM PT5:35 PM MT6:35 PM CT7:35 PM ET19:35 ET23:35 GMT7:35 4:35 PM MST6:35 PM EST7:05 PM VEN3:35 UAE (+1)6:35 PM CT-Andriese allowed three runs and six hits over five innings in a no-decision against Houston on Sunday, and again was hurt by the home run.
Analysis: Andriese has surrendered 18 home runs in his last 14 starts, spanning 72 2/3 innings.
Apr. 14 9:29 AM PT10:29 AM MT11:29 AM CT12:29 PM ET12:29 ET16:29 GMT0:29 9:29 AM MST11:29 AM EST11:59 AM VEN20:29 UAE11:29 AM CT-Andriese held the Yankees to one run over six innings in Thursday's start, though he was denied a potential win when reliever Xavier Cedeno allowed a go-ahead two-run homer in the seventh. Andriese struck out five while allowing five hits and one walk.
Analysis: Despite the tough-luck no-decision, Andriese was considerably more effective than his season debut, when he was reached for four earned runs and seven hits over four-plus innings against Toronto. The right-hander still rates as a matchup-dependent option for fantasy purposes.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 TB 3 5 2 - 2 25 8 0 65.2 69 32 30 8 18 1 49 1.32 4.11
2016 TB 8 8 1 - 1 29 19 1 127.2 131 64 62 17 25 1 109 1.22 4.37
2017 TB 5 4 1 - 1 17 16 0 81.0 85 45 40 15 26 1 73 1.37 4.44
Career 16 17 4 - 4 71 43 1 274.1 285 141 132 40 69 3 231 1.29 4.33

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 TB 25 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 TB 29 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 71 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 601 95 88 92 44.88
Curveball 204 84 78 80.9 15.24
Slider 154 89 80 86 11.5
Changeup 380 89 82 86 28.38

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.